Distribution of the dhfr haplotypes in Africa


View map by country:

Choose haplotype:

Filter display

Haplotypes combining codons 51, 59 and 108 are displayed

There are 5 common types: the sensitive haplotype NCS, the single mutant 108 haplotype is NCN, and the double mutants 51+108 and 59+108 haplotypes are ICN and NRN respectively. The triple mutant 51+59+108 IRN is the most highly resistant haplotype of all.

View map »

 Samples tested

 of which positive


Sites studied are shown as markers on the map beneath. Use the controls on the left of the map to pan, zoom and centre. Click on a marker to view study details and links to journals.

Map key: percentage of data set found to exhibit mutation

You can view more detailed information on this study at the foot of this page.

You must have a supported web browser, with Javascript enabled to view the map application.